ludwig-two-bandpic

LUDWIG TWO

Ludwig Two
Goodbye Loreley
VÖ: 19.2.2016
Magicmangomusic/CARGO

INFOS:

Bavarian based indie rock band Ludwig Two’s new record “Goodbye Loreley” will be released in February 2016.

Between a small catholic church, a meadow orchard and an old wooden barn owned by Uncle Max originates music that tempted even world-known musicians to sweetest praise. Unlike their sociopathic eponym, the Swan King Ludwig II of Bavaria, Ludwig Two are quite aware of their provincial origin, aside from the fact that their music is made for large international stages.

The title “Goodbye Loreley” wants to be understood programmatically. The Rhine siren symbolizes the eternal tension between lovers, which naturally implies some danger. Danger to hurt yourself or the other one. With the new album Ludwig Two deal the last time with the manifold and for musicians inevitable subject of love: From nihilistic-narcissistic song Love has lost (“Can I hold your hand? I’m playing in a band”), to masochistic-reproachful Goddess (“You have teeth, I have flesh, rip it off”) up to the megahorny Looney Eyes (“Blood is rising and won’t stop”). Thematically, the four Bavarians cover a wide range, without ever being overdramatic. Melancholy and desire neither are extoled only romantically nor are they mere effect. This record doesn’t claim completeness for the subject of love, but it concludes it for the Ludwigs. They dismiss the minnesang with an homage to a legend of bygone ages: Goodbye Loreley.

The production succeeded to give every song the right treatment that it needs. Each song is so well designed, that it doesn’t irritate one not at all to hear quite different styles of music on “Goodbye Loreley”. Downhill’s Florida-electro-feel stands equally besides the Classic Rock number What feels like home. Even the Reggae offbeat of Catch Me harmonizes naturally with sexy Indie Pop songs à la OK Go like the track Remember. The collaboration with their label Magic Mango Music improved hugely since their debut “Heads under Water”. Ludwig Two were never as sure of their sound.

This achievement didn’t fall from heaven, but formed through hard work over long years. The performances at many festivals (Chiemsee Summer, Humulus Lupulus, Audi Rock Pop and much more), the support shows for LaBrassBanda (Hamburg, Bremen, Flensburg, Munich, Hannover etc.) and the numerous concerts in German clubs made Ludwig Two a band, which enthuses both in small locations and before thousands of people. No wonder LaBrassBanda front man Stefan Dettl announces Ludwig Two as the Bavarian Rolling Stones and Toto drummer Simon Phillips comments their support show before an audience of 8000 with the words: “You killed them.”

“Goodbye Loreley” will be released on February 19th 2016 at Magic Mango Music.

HOMEPAGE
FACEBOOK
YOUTUBE
SOUNDCLOUD

ludwig-two-bandpic

LUDWIG TWO

Ludwig Two
Goodbye Loreley
VÖ: 19.2.2016
Magicmangomusic/CARGO

INFOS:

Im Februar 2016 veröffentlichen die Indie Rocker Ludwig Two aus dem beschaulichen Altmühltal ihre zweite Platte „Goodbye Loreley“.

Zwischen einer kleinen katholischen Kirche, Streuobstwiesen und dem alten Bauernstadel vom Onkel Max entsteht Musik, die weltbekannte Showhasen schon zu Lobeshymnen verleitet haben. Anders als ihr soziopathischer Namensgeber sind sich Ludwig Two ihrer provinziellen Herkunft durchaus bewusst, auch wenn ihre Musik für große internationale Bühnen geschaffen ist.

Der Titel „Goodbye Loreley“ ist programmatisch zu verstehen. Die Rheinsirene symbolisiert die ewige Spannung zwischen Liebenden, in der auch einiges an Gefahr steckt. Gefahr, sich selbst oder den anderen zu verletzen. Im neuen Album verhandeln Ludwig Two zum letzten Mal das facettenreiche und für Musiker unvermeidliche Thema Liebe: Vom nihilistisch-narzisstischen Love has lost („Can I hold your hand? I’m playing in a band“), über das masochistisch-vorwurfsvolle Goddess („You have teeth, I have flesh, rip it off“) bis hin zum notgeilen Looney Eyes („Blood is rising and won’t stop“). Die vier Bayern decken thematisch eine enorme Bandbreite ab, ohne jemals pathetisch zu werden. Melancholie und Sehnsucht werden niemals nur ironisch besungen, sind aber auch nie nur Effekthascherei. Diese Platte beansprucht keine Vollständigkeit über das Thema Liebe, schließt aber aus Sicht der Ludwigs damit ab. Sie verabschieden sich von der ewigen Minne mit einer Hommage an ein Märchen aus alten Zeiten: Goodbye Loreley.

Die Produktion hat es geschafft, jedem Song das Gewand zu geben, das er verdient. Jedes Lied ist konzeptionell so rund, dass es überhaupt nicht irritiert, völlig verschiedene Musikstile auf „Goodbye Loreley“ zu hören. Das Florida-Elektrofeeling von Downhill steht gleichberechtigt neben der klassischen 70er-Rocknummer What feels like home. Selbst der Reggae-Offbeat von Catch Me harmoniert selbstverständlich mit sexy Indiepopsongs à la Bilderbuch wie der Titel Remember. Die Zusammenarbeit mit ihrem Label Magic Mango Music hat sich seit dem Debut „Heads under Water“ potentiell ins Positive gesteigert. Noch nie waren sich Ludwig Two in ihrem Sound so sicher.

Dieser Erfolg ist nicht vom Himmel gefallen, sondern durch harte Arbeit über lange Jahre entstanden. Die Auftritte bei vielen Festivals (Chiemsee Summer, Humulus Lupulus, Audi Rock Pop u.v.m.), als Vorband von LaBrassBanda (Hamburg, Bremen, Flensburg, München, Hannover u.v.m.) und in vielen deutschen Clubs haben Ludwig Two zu einer Band gemacht, die sowohl in kleinen Locations als auch vor tausenden von Menschen begeistert. Da wundert man sich nicht, wenn LaBrassBanda-Chef Stefan Dettl Ludwig Two als die bayerischen Rolling Stones ankündigt und Toto-Drummer Simon Phillips ihre Support-Show vor 8000 Zuschauern mit den Worten „You killed them“ kommentiert.

„Goodbye Loreley“ erscheint am 19.02.2016 bei Magic Mango Music.

HOMEPAGE
FACEBOOK
YOUTUBE
SOUNDCLOUD